Kappa (Peter Owen Modern Classic) (Paperback)

Kappa (Peter Owen Modern Classic) By Ryunosuke Akutagawa, Geoffrey Bownas (Translated by) Cover Image
By Ryunosuke Akutagawa, Geoffrey Bownas (Translated by)
$17.55
Email or call for price

Description


The Kappa is a creature from Japanese folklore described as a scaly, child-sized being with a face like a tiger and a sharp, pointed beak. In the hands of Ryunosuke Akutagawa, one man's journey to Kappaland becomes the vehicle for a critique of Japanese life and customs in the tradition of Swift and Kafka. A perfectly formed gem from the pen of one of Japan's most important modern writers, this tale is at once a fable, a comedy, and a brilliant satire.

About the Author


Ryunosuke Akutagawa was the author of more than 100 short stories as well as translations of the works of Anatole France and Yeats. Akutagawa was regarded as a major author during his lifetime, and the Akutagawa Prize, established after his death, is now one of Japan’s most prestigious literary awards. Two of the stories from his collection Rashomon formed the basis of the award-winning film of the same title by Akira Kurosawa.


Product Details
ISBN: 9780720613377
ISBN-10: 072061337X
Publisher: Peter Owen Publishers
Publication Date: September 1st, 2009
Pages: 188
Language: English
Series: Peter Owen Modern Classic