The Polish Girl (Hardcover)

The Polish Girl By Malka Adler Cover Image
$26.99
Usually Ships in 2-10 Days

Description


In the eye of the war
That tore the world apart
A mother wants a son
A daughter needs a mother

Winter 1939: Danusha and her family are forced to flee their home when the Nazis invade Poland. Danusha's mother, Anna, changes her name and secures a position as a housekeeper in a German doctor's mansion in Krak w where Gestapo meetings are hosted in the kitchen...

Her secret is their salvation, but what Danusha remembers most is the solitude, with only her baby brother and the girl in the mirror for company.

All Anna ever wanted was a firstborn son. All Danusha ever wanted was a mother who would love her like a firstborn son. Instead she got one who could look a Nazi straight in the eye but not into the eyes of her own daughter.

It is only years later, when their neighbours gather in the living room to hear Anna's stories, that Danusha finally realises her mother was never a cold unknowable sea but a storm-wracked sky - sometimes bright, sometimes dark, and always watching over her.

The Polish Girl is a heartbreaking and unforgettable historical novel by the author of international bestseller The Brothers of Auschwitz - perfect for fans of Antonio Iturbe and Edith Eger.

About the Author


Malka Adler was born in a small village near the Sea of Galilee in northern Israel.She began her work as an author when she turned 50. After taking a creative writing course, she fell in love with the art.Malka has written six books, four of which are about the Holocaust. She obtained her undergraduate and graduate degrees in educational counselling at Bar Ilan University and is a family and couples' therapist, writer and facilitator of several reading clubs.


Product Details
ISBN: 9780008525309
ISBN-10: 0008525307
Publisher: One More Chapter
Publication Date: August 16th, 2022
Pages: 11
Language: English